gingerbread scrub

gingerbreadscrub

 

If you are scrambling for a last minute gift idea, here one is! I made this gingerbread scrub using a recipe from MommyMusings with a few alterations.

Instead of almond oil, I just used the equivalent amount of coconut oil. Additionally, I did not have allspice on hand unfortunately, but I found a great substitute online. Instead of 1 tsp of allspice, you can use 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves, and a pinch of ground nutmeg.

gingerbreadscrub2

This was SUPER easy to make (~15 minutes in all?) and smells DIVINE. I used a little on my hands when I was done — very smooth for a scrub, and the coconut oil leaves your skin feeling super soft!

Let me know if you try it, and if you enjoy! What are some of your favorite other DIY gifts?

5 thoughts on “gingerbread scrub

  1. This looks great! Love how you packaged it in mason jars with festive tops. I run a beauty blog, but I am very much the knitter! Almost all of my gifts are DIY — fair isle hats. Very budget friendly!!

    Like

  2. Oooo, this reminds me of a very simple DIY scrub which I use almost every day. I make it by mixing just two ingredients – sugar and olive oil – and to this day I have not found a single shop-bought exfoliator which rivals it. What I looove about these homemade scrubs is that they give you tangible results in just one use, whereas I find that most granules in manufactured exfoliators just don’t have the required scrubbing power to truly “smooth-ify” my face! 😀 You just have to resist the temptation to eat these homemade scrubs because let’s face it… Most of them smell and taste sooo good! 😛

    PS: Now I feel like eating some gingerbread. Hehehe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

